top of page

My Favorite Look

This is one look that I can always wear and feel super confident and just puts me in an all-around better mood. Makeup tends to do that for me. I don’t know about you, but I can be in a sour mood and then I throw on some bomb makeup and I’m ready to conquer the world!

I posted this picture to my Instagram and my Facebook page (go like them both now if you haven’t yet!) and a few people wanted to know how I do this. It’s actually really, really simple! The drama is all in the lashes.

I follow my normal everyday application routine. Applied my primer (you guys; this is an absolute MUST before applying ANY makeup. I guarantee your makeup won’t make it to lunch time before it’s worn off or melted away. I promise.) I used Benefit Cosmetics The POREfessional Primer. This primer helps fill in lines, wrinkles, and minimizes the appearance of pores. This is what helps you achieve such a smooth base. Next, I used my regular foundation: BECCA’s Ultimate Coverage Complexion Créme. If you couldn’t tell from the name, this is a full coverage foundation. I have an oily skin type so this type of foundation suits me. If you’re a dry skin type you will need to go for something more moisturizing. I tend to go for these kinds of foundations when it’s winter and I’m white as a ghost and all of my blemishes are on display!!

To apply the foundation I use the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. But to get a PERFECT blend and really melt the product into my skin, I use another tool from Real Techniques called the Miracle Complexion Sponge. This sponge, I’m telling you, has absolutely CHANGED my makeup application game. It FLAWLESSLY blends in your cream foundation to PER-FEC-TION! To be honest I don’t know how I ever applied makeup before without it. You squeeze it underneath a running tap to dampen it and then just bounce it over your foundation to get a perfect blend.

Once I get my foundation on, I immediately go in with my powder to set my under eye followed by the rest of my face. I use Maybelline Shine-Free Loose Powder. One of the beauty bloggers I follow raves about this stuff and I was in the market for a new one so I went ahead and grabbed it. She was definitely right! It’s a great dupe for the Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder and OVER half the cost! Can’t beat that!

Then it’s BRONZER TIME! My favorite step in my makeup routine without a doubt! Normally I use the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil bronzer but lately I have been trying out the Matte Bronzer by NYX in the shade Medium, which is what I’m wearing in this look. Once that’s done, I follow with whatever blush I feel like wearing that day, and a highlighter. I believe I have on BECCA’s Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone… (I’ll have an accurate list of everything I’m wearing down below this somewhere.)

Now, everything up to this point really hasn’t been complicated in any way. The thing that REALLY turns this look up a notch and makes it look way more glam than it really is are the lashes. The lashes in this look are the Ardell 120 Demi style in black. If you haven’t ever worn lashes before I would say start slowly with a MUCH more natural style and work your way up to this kind once you’re a little more comfortable. They can be a bit jarring if you aren’t used to the way they feel OR how you look in them.

Last are the lips. I used MAC’s Lip Pencil in Whirl (one of my favs if you haven’t noticed by now…) followed with MAC Fleshpot lipstick, and topped with the Mega Shine Gloss in Natural.

That’s pretty much all I did for this particular makeup! To some it may seem like a lot, but honestly if you wear makeup everyday it’s not that much more complicated than any other morning makeup routine.

Below is everything I used:

Hannah x


My Beauty Tips:

#1 

ALWAYS use a primer under your makeup. It will improve wear and extend the life of your makeup for the day.

 

#2

Slightly outline your lips just outside your natural lip line

and follow with your favorite nude lipstick. This creates the illusion of a fuller lip!

 
#3

When applying bronzer think about the places the sun naturally hits your face. That is wear you want to apply your bronzer to give you a natural looking false tan.

bottom of page